GRDA is governed by a seven-member board of directors comprised of representatives from each GRDA customer class (municipals, electric cooperatives and industrials) as well as the GRDA lakes area. Two at-large representatives also sit on the board. Appointments are made by the Oklahoma Governor (3), Speaker of the Oklahoma State House of Representatives and President Pro Tempore of the Oklahoma State Senate. Two other board positions are ex-officio positions, filled by the general manager of the Oklahoma Association of Electric Cooperatives (OAEC) and executive director of the Municipal Electric Systems of Oklahoma (MESO) or by their designees.

Board members serve staggered, five-year terms, with one position opening each year, to ensure continuity. Customer representation on the Board is characteristic of GRDA’s status as a customer-owned, customer-controlled public power entity. Board meetings are on the second Wednesday of each month and open to the public. Prior to the meetings, agendas are posted on this page.

GRDA Board of Directors


Thomas “Pete” Churchwell

Thomas Pete Churchwell, Chairman

Representing economic development interests, lake enthusiasts and property owners
Appointed by the Oklahoma Governor

Joseph Vandevier

OwassoJoseph Vandevier
Appointed by Oklahoma Governor

Ed Townsend
At-Large Director

Ed Townsend

Appointed by the Oklahoma Governor

Jim Richie
At-Large Director

TulsaJim Richie
Appointed by the Oklahoma Speaker of the House

Tom Kimball

OwassoTom Kimball
Appointed by Oklahoma Senate President Pro-Tempore

Steve Spears

Steven Spears

Municipal Electric Systems of Oklahoma Executive Director designee

Chris Meyers

Chris Myers

Oklahoma Association of Electric Cooperatives
General Manager